Notable Zoom Profile Settings




Notable Zoom Profile Settings

Most of the settings are set by default and should be sufficient.
But a list below are settings and descriptions that users may consider updating.
None of these settings are required, but only worth mentioning from the Princeton Zoom Admin Team for potential implementation.

If you have any questions, you can reach out to the Princeton Zoom Admin Team directly.

To access your Zoom Profile settings, navigate to:

https://princeton.zoom.us/profile/setting

The following are notable settings with the Zoom Profile Setting:

Security


This section will address the settings that can prevent uninvited guests from joining (Zoom Bombing). If Zoom Bombing is a concern, you can set the settings here that may prevent that from occurring in your meetings.

The 2 deterrents of which to prevent uninvited guests from joining your Zoom meeting, are to enable the Waiting Room or require the meetings use a passcode.

Under the Security settings on your profile, you can select the first toggle button
Require that all meetings are secured with one security option
This will force you to select one or the other when scheduling your meetings.

The biggest difference between the two options are that the Waiting Room option requires the hosts or co-host to allow in participants. For the Waiting Room option there is more administrative overhead.
There are some options to streamline this approach.
If you enable the Waiting Room, you can then modify the Waiting Room Options.
Graphical user interface, text, application, email

Description automatically generated
By default it’s set to send “Everyone” to the waiting room.
Here are the other options:
Graphical user interface, text, application, email

Description automatically generated
Users not in your account, will send anyone that is not logged into their Princeton Zoom, into the waiting room. Those users joining that are logged into their Princeton Zoom accounts, will bypass the waiting room.
Princeton University doesn’t recommend utilizing the Whitelisted domains, but if you feel like this might be a viable option for your needs, please notify the Princeton Zoom Admin Team to discuss the details and provide guidance on how to best proceed.

The next option would be allowing users that are invited from the meeting, to bypass the waiting room and directly join.

The next option is pertaining to chat. The host can send a chat to the waiting room participants, and this checkbox, is where you as the host can choose to allow them to reply back.

The final checkbox is to send everyone to the waiting room, if the host or co-host loose their connection or drop unexpectedly.

You may also want to customize the waiting room.
Here you can add a Title, and a description as well as upload a picture to be displayed, or a video as well.
This also gives you instant feedback as it displays what the participants will see when they join, in both the desktop format as well as the mobile.

Graphical user interface, application, Teams

Description automatically generated




The Passcode option is easier in that most of the invited guests have the passcode embedded in the link from the invite and don’t need to enter the passcode to join.
The drawback here, is that the link can be shared and those individuals will now have access to the meeting.

There are several options for the passcode settings, enabling for scheduled new meetings, instant meetings, PMI, Webinar etc.
Requiring the passcode for participants to join by phone will create a numeric passcode for the phone users. If you set your passcode t alphanumeric, then there will be two separate passcodes depending upon how the user joins. One for the client/video and the other for the phone only option.

Schedule Meeting


In this section you can set default settings for your scheduled meetings.
Host and participant videos by default we would recommend enabling. This will not require or override if the user connecting has their video muted but will not require for the host to manually enable them for video during the meeting.

Allowing for participants to join before hosts, you can select how far in advance those users can join.

From a time management perspective, enabling the last option in this section will allow for notifications on your desktop for upcoming meetings.
Using this along with the calendar services integration within Zoom, will allow you to get notifications for all your meetings within Outlook, not just Zoom specific meetings.


In Meeting (Basic)

By default the Chat should be turned on, but the Host can select whether or not Everyone can chat, or just the Host and Co-Hosts.
You can disable the Private chat option, which allows anyone to send a private chat to anyone else in the meeting, regardless of whether they are host or co-host.
As the host you can check the Allow users to save chats from this meeting option but also toggle on the Auto Saving chats option

Graphical user interface

Description automatically generated
The first is a manual step, the second will automatically save the chat records into the following local pathways:

Windows: C:\{User}\Documents\Zoom\(Folder with Meeting name, date and time)

Mac: /Users/{UserName}/Documents/Zoom/(Folder with Meeting name, date and time)


Sound notifications when joining can be helpful if needed to identify users that join.
If enabled, we recommend only enabling for Hosts and Co-Hosts only and not everyone as it can become distracting.
During the meeting the host can disable this if it becomes to distracting.
Open the participants tab, click the … option and unselect the
Play sound when someone joins or leaves
Graphical user interface, text, application

Description automatically generated

We recommend enabling the Co-host option as this makes the alternative hosts available for scheduling and if the host can’t make it, the alternative hosts will automatically become hosts. This also allows for the hosts to promote participants to Co-host during the meeting. All Co-hosts have the same in meeting privileges as the host.

The Polls, Quizzes, Surveys, etc are all left to the discretion of the User.

Screen Sharing

Enabling screen sharing for all participants will allow for the host to not have to enable it during the meeting.

The Annotation, Whiteboard and Remote Control features should be enabled by default
Graphical user interface, text, application, email

Description automatically generated

Allowing Users to change their name when joining and Allow participants to rename themselves, is up to the discretion of the hosts. Disabling both, can prevent users from joining anonymously to a meeting (by renaming themselves or changing their display name before joining).

Graphical user interface, text, application, email

Description automatically generated